Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
site header image

HOME: Social Sciences

Library Tutorials

Writing Lab

The PJC writing lab is available to assist you! The writing center is located in the administration building in room 125 (at the end of the English hall).

Hours:

  • Monday - Thursday 9:00am - 3:00pm 

Call the Writing Center at 903-782-0314 for more information.

writingcenter email

Social Science Databases

The following databases are located both in PJC library off campus login and on campus login. for the following subjects

Black Lives Matter

Academic Search Complete - Race Relations abstracts, eBook Collection (EBSCOhost), Credo Reference, Salem Press

Government

Academic Search Complete - eBook Collection (EBSCOhost), Legal Collection, Military & Government Collection, Legal Information Reference Center, Newspaper Source Plus, Credo Reference, Salem Press

History

Academic Search Complete - eBook Collection (EBSCOhost), Bibliography of Native North Americans, Military & Government Collection, Texas Reference Center, Newspaper Source Plus, Credo Reference, Salem Press

Psychology

Academic Search Complete - eBook Collection (EBSCOhost), Newspaper Source Plus, Psychology and Behavioral Science Collection, Professional Development Collection, Credo Reference, Salem Press

Sociology

Academic Search Complete - eBook Collection (EBSCOhost), Newspaper Source Plus, Psychology and Behavioral Science Collection, Credo Reference, Salem Press

Library Databases

Select the link below to access the online library databases:

Databases

Note:

To access the academic databases from home, click here:
User Name:  PJC student ID number
Password:   birth date (mmddyyyy)

Online Catalog

Search the online catalog by

  • Title
  • Author
  • General Keyword
  • Subject Keyword

To browse the open stacks for books on Social Sciences, use the following Library of Congress (LoC) subject headings:

H Social Sciences
HA Statistics
HB Economic theory:  Demography
HC Economic history and conditions
HE Transportation and communication
HF Commerce
HG Finance
HJ Public finance
HM Sociology
HN Social history and conditions.
      Social problems.  Social reform
HQ The family.  Marriage.  Women
HS Societies:  secret, benevolent, etc.
HT Communities.  Classes.  Races
HV Social pathology.  Social and public welfare
HX Socialism.  Communism.  Anarhism