American History
Military History
Natural History
United States Holocaust Memorial Museum
Voices of the Holocaust Voices of the Holocaust is a web resource of oral history testimonies gathered from Jewish men and women who came to live in Britain following persecution by the Nazis during the Second World War. The testimonies are personal, individual and true stories, which describe life during the Holocaust.
A Peoples History of the Holocaust Very detailed site of the Holocaust that includes persecution of Jews by the Nazis, concentration camps and stories of individuals and survivors.
A Teachers Guide to the Holocaust A Teacher's Guide to the Holocaust from the University of South Florida offers an overview of the people and events of the World War 2 Holocaust when millions (including Jews, Gypsies, political enemies etc.) were victimised by the Nazi regime. Teacher resources are included.
The following is a list of suggested topics for this assignment
1. Anne Frank's diary - PJC has book and video at SSC library
2. Personal narriatives - Soliders, Holocaust Survivors, witnesses
from Books, movies, newspaper articles and speeches from Holcaust survivors, example Max Glauben and Hannah Pick-Goslar
3. Nuremberg trials
4. Recent trials or deporations of World War 2 Germans soliders or employees for war crimes concerning Concretration camps, example Irmgard Furchner age 98, Josef Schütz age 101 in 2022, ohn Demjanjuk, a former Nazi death camp guard deported from United States in 2009.
Databases
the main Academic database is ProQuest
Accessing Databases from Off Campus:
To access the academic databases from home, click here:
Excerpts from a collection of over 4,400 video recorded interviews with witnesses and survivors of the Holocaust.
These 289 sound recordings "are powerful personal accounts of the Holocaust from Jewish survivors living in Britain."
Eyewitness accounts of the atrocities committed during the Holocaust, as well as glimpses into the vibrancy of pre-war Jewish life in Europe.
"An open-access initiative to create and present digitized images or full-text versions of the Library's Nuremberg documents, descriptions of each document, and general information about the trials."
Personal histories shared through the Museum's First Persons Programs.
Video testimonials from survivors across Canada.
Free public access to 4,500 audiovisual testimonies of survivors and witnesses of genocide. NOTE: To access users are required to register at no charge.
Allows users to locate video interviews with survivors by topics and places. From Yad Vashem: The World Holocaust Remembrance Center.
Contains over 230 digitized testimonies: the personal stories of people who settled in the Commonwealth of Virginia and experienced a mass atrocity.
The catalog has many different resources and materials available to help you.
E-books are available through Netlibrary - see the database selections below.
PJC library has numerous books and E-books concerning the Holocaust.
The arts and culture of the Sinti and Roma and their contribution to the European cultural history. Heidelberg, Germany.
This historic site, where more than one million people lost their lives, plays a vital role in preserving Holocaust memory.
Visit the Treblinka Museum and site online. Nazi Germany's extermination and forced labour camp (1941-1944) can be toured individually or with a guide. Poland.
Growing treasury of artifacts that document the rich heritage of German-speaking Jewry in the modern era including over 800 oral history interviews with Austrian-Jewish émigrés who fled the Nazis and escaped to the United States, Canada, or to (what is now) the State of Israel.