(Univ. of North Texas - hosted by the Portal to Texas History)
City directories spanning approximately 1866 to 1923. Provides information on government entities, banks, churches, schools, benevolent societies, local businesses, and private citizens. (Houston Public Library)
A journal of Houston's Jazz Age. Read more about the history of the publication in this article in Houstonia magazine.
The Houston Metropolitan Research Center is part of the Houston Public Library and is the Special Collections and genealogy / digital resources portion of the HPL.
(Rice Univ.)
(Rice Univ.)
Includes oral histories, newspaper clippings, photocopies of secondary source materials, brochures, newsletters, and photographs either created, gathered, or maintained by Barnes. Dates range from 1830-1991, bulk 1920-1991. (Rice Univ.)
Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps of Texas (1877-1922)
Various Sanborn fire insurance maps for cities across Texas. (Univ. of Texas)
Digitized primary documents are scattered throughout this exhibit site. (Texas State Library and Archives Commission)
Texas Adjutant General Service Records, 1836-1935
Official service record files from the Adjutant General's Office and alphabetical files created by other agencies... related to an individual's service in a military unit. Information in a file varies considerably; may include measurements of uniforms, payments for mustering-in, warrants of authority, individual equipment records, general orders, oaths of allegiance, pay vouchers, powers of attorney, and discharge verifications.
Names listed in the index do not represent all people who served in the various units, only those represented in the records described above. If an individual is not found in the index, it should not be assumed that they did not serve.
(Texas State Library and Archives Commission)
Under the Rebel Flag: Life in Civil War Texas
Digitized primary documents are scattered throughout this exhibit site. (Texas State Library and Archives Commission)
Texas Digital Newspaper Program
Digital papers from cities all across Texas, 1829-1953 (dates are currently scattered). Free from University of North Texas; part of Library of Congress' Chronicling America project.
In addition to the site's current information, the archive contains all the Almanacs from 1857 to 1989.
(Texas State Historical Commission)
Texas Week Newsmagazine, 1946-1947
Texas Week was the first weekly magazine to be devoted entirely to the State of Texas. Founded right after WWII, its focus was on capturing the post-War normalization of the State – culturally, politically and structurally. (Univ. of North Texas, Portal to Texas History)
Texas Register Archive, 1976-present
(University of North Texas Libraries)
The Indianola Immigrant Database seeks to record the individuals and families that reached Texas through that ill-fated port of Indianola on the Texas coast. Most historical accounts relate that there were thousands of people who immigrated through the port of Indianola but there were never any official passenger lists for this port. The Indianola Immigrant Database is an effort to record Indianola immigration via family history, printed histories, and other sources that are often provided by descendents. (Victoria Regional History Center (VRHC) at the Victoria College/Univ. of Houston-Victoria Library)