History: Texas History Resources

• Portal to Texas History 

• The Alamo: Official Site

• The Constitution of the State of Texas

  An Annotated Comparative Analysis by George D. Braden, et. al. (1977) (Texas State Law Library)

• From Independence to Annexation, 1836-1846
• From Republic to State: Debates & Documents Relating to the Annexation of TX, 1836-1856
• Gammel's The Laws of Texas, 1822-1897

  (Univ. of North Texas Libraries)

• Hard Road to Texas: Texas Annexation, 1836-1845

  Digitized primary documents are scattered throughout this exhibit site. (Texas State Library and Archives Commission)

• Legislative Reference Library of Texas

  Detailed information about the Texas Legislature and its legislation, leaders, sessions, committees, statistics, and more. Use the Legislative Archive System to search for bills; digitized documentation is available for some bills.

• Lone Star History Links: Selected Texas History Primary Source Documents

  (Texas State Historical Association)

• McArdle Notebooks

  Late 19th-century compiled research on the Texas Revolution. (Texas State Library & Archives Commission)

• Portraits of Texas Governors

  Biographies of all of the governors of Texas, complete with official portraits, timeline of events, revealing documents, and rare photos. (Texas State Library and Archives Commission)

• Rice University Woodson Research Center

  Contains a variety of collections related to the history of Houston and Texas, including early Houston histories; Houston area land records; Houston Asian American oral histories; Houston waterways collection; Port of Houston records; and more. (Rice Univ.)

• South Texas Border, 1900-1920

  (Univ. of Texas at Austin)

• State Civil and Criminal Statutes

  Revisions of 1879, 1895, 1911, and 1925. (Texas State Law Library)

• State Constitution: Amendments Since 1876

  (Texas Legislative Council)

• State Constitution and Statutes

  (Texas Legislature Online)

• State Constitutions 1824-1876, and Constitutional Convention documents

  (Univ. of Texas at Austin)

• A Sure Foundation: A Sketch of Negro Life in Texas, by Andrew Webster Jackson [circa 1930s?]

  "This book provides biographical sketches of noteworthy African Americans in Texas, and advice on how African Americans can lead fulfilling lives." (Houston Public Library)

• Telegraph and Texas Register (San Felipe de Austin), circa 1830s

  (Houston Public Library)

• Texas, Texans, and the Alamo

  (Univ. of Texas at Austin)

• Texas Beyond History

  (Univ. of Texas at Austin)

• Texas Laws and Resolutions Archive

  (Univ. of North Texas Libraries)

• Texas Law Timeline

  (Legislative Reference Library of Texas)

• Texas Slavery Project

  Interactive maps illustrate data on slavery in Texas' history. (Univ. of Virginia)

• Texas Treasures

  (Texas State Libraries and Archives Commission)

• Triumph and Tragedy: Presidents of the Republic of Texas

  Digitized primary documents are scattered throughout this exhibit site, relating to David G. Burnet, Sam Houston, Mirabeau B. Lamar, and Anson Jones. (Texas State Library and Archives Commission)

• University of Houston Digital Collections

  Various collections highlight history of Houston, Galveston, & Texas.

• West Texas Digital Archive

  Collections from a wide range of institutions, including the 12th Armored Division Memorial Museum, the Howard Payne University Library, and the Abilene Public Library, including oral histories, city directories, cemetery records, and much more. (Abilene Library Consortium)

• William J. Hill Texas Artisans and Artists Archive

  "In the 19th century, Texas artisans & artists created ceramics, furniture, textiles, metalworks, photographs, paintings, and works on paper in this growing region... Their lives, practices, and products are captured in the census records, city directories, newspapers and primary sources included in the Hill Archive." (Museum of Fine Arts Houston)

• IPAC 

The catalog is available for your research needs. Type in the title of your book you are studying or the author and you will find materials to assist you with your paper. Use the subject search with search terms to find additional resources.

Databases

PJC on campus

the main Academic database is ProQuest

Accessing Databases from Off Campus:

1. Go to Paris Junior College Homepage
2. Click on Quick Links
3. Select Library Services
4. Under Library Links click on Databases (off-campus login)
5. User name is your student ID number
6. Password is your birthday (mmddyyyy)

To access the academic databases from home, click here:

• Bob Bullock Texas State History Museum
• Portal to Texas History
• Texas Beyond History
• Texas Historical Commission
• Southwest Historical Quarterly
• Texas State Library and Archives Commission
• Handbook of Texas online

• • Texas Digital Sanborn Maps
    A collection of digitized maps that provide detailed property and land-use records that depict the architecture of Texas towns and cities throughout the past one hundred years.
  • Texas Archival Resources Online (TARO)
    TARO makes descriptions of the rich archival, manuscript, and museum collections in repositories across the state available to the public. The site consists of the collection descriptions or "finding aids" that archives, libraries, and museums create to assist users in locating information in their collections. Consider these an extended table of contents which describe unique materials only available at the individual repositories.
  • Texas Poster Art Collection
    From UTAustin's archives.
  • Texas Treasures
    Feast your eyes on images of artifacts and historic documents held by the Texas State Library and Archives Commission.
  • Texas Web Resources
    Click here to see online resources I have tagged as relevant to studying Texas
  • University of Texas Dolph Briscoe Center for American History
    The Center for American History is a history research center with few peers. Our archival, artifact, and library collections contain historical treasures documenting key themes in Texas and U.S. history. These treasures echo with stories of the people, places, events, and ideas that have shaped our nation's history.
  • Texas Collection
    The Institute for Oral History is a research department within Baylor University's Division of Academic Affairs. The TX Collection provides essential information for research in historical topics concerning Baylor University, Texas Baptists, Hispanic Baptists, and Waco and McLennan County, Texas.

    Gammel's Rules of the Courts of Texas

Civilian Conservation Corps (CCC) Plans and Drawings

3900 large-format drawings documenting park development and construction activities by the CCC in Texas from 1933-1958. (Texas State Library and Archives Commission)

• Historic Flags of Texas

  (Texas State Library and Archives Commission)

• Images of a Rural Past: Photos from the Texas Agricultural Extension Office

  (Texas A&M Univ.)

• John N. Rowe III Collection of Texas Currency

• (Southern Methodist Univ.)

• John J. Herrera Papers

  John Herrera practiced law in Houston from 1943 to 1986 and was a leading civil rights advocate for Mexican Americans in Texas. This collection contains the private and public papers of John J. Herrera, 1940s-1970s, with an emphasis on his civic, business, and political activities. (Houston Metropolitan Research Center, Houston Public Library)

• Mexican-American Diplomacy

  Documents in law, history, and diplomacy. (Yale Law School)

• The Mexican American Family and Photo Collection

  Reflects a wide range of families and individuals through photographs and documents that capture business and work experiences, festivals and community events, daily life and individual achievements. (Houston Metropolitan Research Center, Houston Public Library)

• Tejano Voices: Post WW-II Oral Histories

  (University of Texas at Arlington, Center for Mexican American Studies)

• Virtual Landscapes of Texas

  (Univ. of Texas at Austin)

• The Texas Revolution and the Narrative of José Enrique de la Peña

  (University of Texas at Austin)