PJC library has several books on the following authors and titles
Jane Austen, Beowulf, Charlotte Bronte, Samuel Taylor Coleridge
Geoffrey Chaucer, William Caxton, Daniel Defoe, John Donne
Henry Fielding, Samuel Johnson, Ben Jonson, William Langland,
Christopher Marlowe, John Milton, William Shakespeare
Mary Shelley, Percy Bysshe Shelley, Edmund Spenser, Jonathan Swift, William Wordsworth
The PJC writing lab is available to assist you! The writing center is located in the administration building in room 125 (at the end of the English hall).
Hours:
Call the Writing Center at 903-782-0314 for more information.
Databases
The main Academic database is ProQuest
Accessing Databases from Off Campus:
The following databases are of great use to British Literature -
Note:
To access the academic databases from home, click here:
User Name: PJC student ID number
Password: birth date (mmddyyyy)
British Library website.
British Library website.
Provides links to many medieval documents, reference sources and electronic periodicals for medieval studies.
Edited editions of several Middle English texts, along with introductions and select bibliographies for each text.
An online repository of works printed in English between the years 1477 and 1799.
Multicultural Shakespeare: translation, appropriation, and performance
An online repository of over 350 early seventeenth-century political poetry from manuscript sources, many previously unpublished.
The Shelley-Godwin Archive provides digitized manuscripts of Percy Bysshe Shelley, Mary Wollstonecraft Shelley, William Godwin, and Mary Wollstonecraft, including the Frankenstein manuscripts.
Selected works from the British Library's collections, with essays, articles and information about individual authors.
British Association for Romantic Studies (UK) - national organisation for promoting the study of Romanticism and the history and culture of the period from which it emerged.
From Romantic poetry to Gothic horror, from depictions of poverty and industrialisation to portrayals of the middle classes, and from crime fiction to fin de siècle decadence: the literary works of the Romantic and Victorian periods, and the contexts in which they were written, offer a wealth of topics to explore.
From Beowulf to the Brontës, from Shakespeare quartos to Wendy Cope’s emails, the collections offer an unparalleled resource for the study of English literature and British theatre. They cover a range of formats including archives and manuscripts, printed books and sound recordings.
The catalog is available for your research needs. Type in the title of your book you are studying or the author and you will find materials to assist you with your paper. Use the subject search with search terms to find additional resources.
PJC library has several E-books on the following authors and titles
Jane Austen, Beowulf, Charlotte Bronte, Samuel Taylor Coleridge
Geoffrey Chaucer, William Caxton, Daniel Defoe, John Donne
Henry Fielding, Samuel Johnson, Ben Jonson, William Langland,
Christopher Marlowe, John Milton, William Shakespeare
Mary Shelley, Percy Bysshe Shelley, Edmund Spenser, Jonathan Swift, William Wordsworth