This site collects news and creates simple articles explaining various geological references.
Built by the National Science Foundation and communities of educators, students, and scientists to support Earth system education at all levels.
The USGS is a science organization that provides impartial information on the health of our ecosystems and environment, the natural hazards that threaten us, the natural resources we rely on, the impacts of climate and land-use change, and the core science systems that help us provide timely, relevant, and useable information.
Browse or search for maps of varying scales depicting regions of geological interest.
Links to geological surveys for all 50 states.
The Earth Science World Image Bank has photographs of all aspects of Earth Science available to the public, educators, and the geoscience community. Other tools and tips are also available for those interested in the geosciences.
Search for hard-to-find science journal articles here, or request them from our Interlibrary Loan service.
Hosts and provides access to one of the most significant archives on Earth, with comprehensive oceanic, atmospheric, and geophysical data.
Searchable archive of standardized geological maps.
Provides science about the natural hazards that threaten lives and livelihoods; the water, energy, minerals, and other natural resources we rely on; the health of our ecosystems and environment; and the impacts of climate and land-use change. Our scientists develop new methods and tools to supply timely, relevant, and useful information about the Earth and its processes.
The rate of sea-level rise in the 20th century along much of the U.S. Atlantic coast was the fastest in 2,000 years, and southern New Jersey had the fastest rates, according to a new study.
Glaciers in Southeast Alaska have been melting since the end of the Little Ice Age, many of which are in close proximity to strike-slip faults. When these glaciers melt, the land begins to rise, and the faults they'd previously sutured become unclamped. In this study, scientists determine this process has influenced the timing and location of earthquakes with a magnitude of 5.0 or greater in the area during the past century.
Along submarine mountain ranges, the mid-ocean ridges, forces from the Earth's interior push tectonic plates apart, forming new ocean floor and thus moving continents about. However, many features of the processes summarized under the term plate tectonics are still unclear. New research assigns transform faults which offset mid-ocean ridges a completely new role in plate tectonics.
What would a volcano - and its lava flows - look like on a planetary body made primarily of metal? A pilot study offers insights into ferrovolcanism that could help scientists interpret landscape features on other worlds.
GeoRef covers journals and series that are openly available on the web. Only journals and series that appear to provide stable open-access to current issues, have multiple issues available for use, and appear to plan to continue to be available in an open manner are included. Journals that require subscriptions to current issues are not included.
This list is updated frequently as availability of openly accessible publications grows.
Open Journal of Geology (OJG) is an international journal dedicated to the latest advancements in geology.
Founded in 1997, Palaeontologia Electronica (PE) is the longest running open-access, peer-reviewed electronic journal and covers all aspects of palaeontology.
This link opens in a new window